What is the structure of High Court in India?

What is the structure of High Court in India?

Structure of Government Every High Court has a Chief Justice and a number of judges. The number of judges varies from State to State. The number of judges of each High Court is determined by the President. The judges of the High Courts are appointed by the President of India.

What is the basic structure of courts in India?

They form a hierarchy of importance, in line with the order of courts in which they sit, with the Supreme Court of India at the top, followed by High Courts of respective states with District Judges sitting in District Courts and Magistrates of Second Class and Civil Judge (Junior Division) at the bottom.

What is the composition of the high court?

Composition: The High Court consists of a Chief Justice and other judges. There is no fixed number regarding the judges of the High Courts. The President may also appoint a qualified person as an additional judge in a High Court for two years.

What is the structure of courts in India differentiate between the High Court and Supreme Court?

High Court:

Supreme Court High Court
It is the principal court of justice in the country. It is the highest judicial body of a state that regulates state,s law and order.
It is headed by the chief justice of India. It is headed by the chief justice of the state.

Which is 25th High Court in India?

High courts

Sl No Court Principal seat
22 Sikkim High Court Gangtok
23 Telangana High Court Hyderabad
24 Tripura High Court Agartala
25 Uttarakhand High Court Nainital

What are the three types of court?

The courts are divided into three categories with top court, middle court and lower court which are Supreme court, high court and district court respectively.

How many types of courts are in India?

The judicial system of India is mainly consisting of three types of courts- the Supreme Court, The High Courts and the subordinate courts.

How many types of writs are there?

five types
There are five types of Writs which are Habeas Corpus, Mandamus, Certiorari, Quo Warranto and Prohibition and all these writs are an effective method of enforcing the rights of the people and to compel the authorities to fulfil the duties which are bound to perform under the law.

What are the 3 levels of Courts?

Three levels of court

  • Court of First Instance (federal and local)
  • Court of Appeal (federal and local)
  • Federal Supreme Court (at the federal level) and the Court of Cassation at the local level of the emirates which have independent judicial departments.

Which is biggest court in India?

The Supreme Court of India
The Supreme Court of India (IAST: Bhāratīya Ucchatama Nyāyālaya) is the supreme judicial body of India and the highest court of Republic of India under the constitution. It is the most senior constitutional court, and has the power of judicial review.

What is the structure of the judiciary in India?

The judiciary in India has a pyramidal structure with the Supreme Court (SC) at the top. High Courts are below the SC, and below them are the district and subordinate courts. The lower courts function under the direct superintendence of the higher courts. The diagram below gives the structure and organisation of the judicial system in the country.

Which is the state court or High Court in India?

State Courts / High Court – The State Courts come direct under the Supreme Court of India in the Indian legal system hierarchy. Every state of India is provided with a court that has the utmost power of judicial system employed in that state only. This state court is termed as High Court and is usually in t he capital of that particular state.

How are judges appointed in high courts in India?

Under Article 141 of the constitution, all courts in India — including high courts — are bounded by the judgments and orders of the Supreme Court of India by precedence. Judges in a high court are appointed by the President of India in consultation with the Chief Justice of India and the governor of the state.

Where was the first Indian High Court established?

UNIT – 5 ESTABLISHMENT OF THE INDIAN HIGH COURTS/ INDIAN HIGH COURTS ACT, 1861: Introduction:In the three Presidency towns of Calcutta, Madras and Bombay there were two existing judicial systems for administering justice i.e. the Supreme Court and the Sadar Diwani and Sadar Nizamat Adalat.