Helpful tips

What is KOOS scale?

What is KOOS scale?

The Knee Injury and Osteoarthritis Outcome Score (KOOS) is a self-reported outcome measure assessing the patient’s opinion about the health, symptoms, and functionality of their knee. It is a 42-item questionnaire, including 5 subscales: symptoms, pain, ADLs, sports/recreation, and quality of life.

What is the MCID for Koos?

MCID was 15.4 for KOOS pain, 15.1 for KOOS symptoms, 17 for KOOS ADL, 11.2 for KOOS sports/recreation, 16.5 for KOOS QQL, 3 for KSS symptoms, 5.6 for KSS activity, 7.2 for SF-12 physical component and 6.3 for PCS mental component.

What is the KOOS questionnaire?

The Knee Injury and Osteoarthritis Outcome Score (KOOS) is a questionnaire designed to assess short and long-term patient-relevant outcomes following knee injury.

How do you score the Koos?

KOOS Scoring instructions Calculate the mean score of the individual items of each subscale and divide by 4 (the highest possible score for a single answer option). Traditionally in orthopedics, 100 indicates no problems and 0 indicates extreme problems. The normalized score is transformed to meet this standard.

How do you calculate WOMAC?

The overall WOMAC score (index) is determined by summing the scores across the three dimensions and the score ranges include 0–240 (derived from the VAS 0–10 or NRS scale), or 0–2400 (derived from the VAS 0–100) or 0–96 (derived from a 0–4 Likert scale).

How do you calculate womac?

What is Lysholm score?

The Lysholm score is a 100-point scoring system for examining a patient’s knee-specific symptoms including mechanical locking, instability, pain, swelling, stair climbing, and squatting. 22. Lysholm scores were used to assess outcome in 5 of the 6 studies.

How is WOMAC score calculated?

What is a WOMAC score?

The WOMAC is a disease-specific tool used for people with hip or knee OA to measure physical function, pain, and stiffness in the past 48 hours. The WOMAC is a self-administered instrument containing 24 items measuring 3 subscales: physical function (17 items), pain (5 items), and stiffness (2 items).

What is the WOMAC test?

What are the advantages and disadvantages of the Koos?

An advantage of the KOOS is the inclusion of two different subscales of physical function relating to daily life, and sport and recreation. This enhances the instrument’s validity for patients with a wide range of current and expected physical activity levels.

When to use Koos for a knee injury?

KOOS is intended to be used for knee injury that can result in post traumatic osteoarthritis (OA); i.e. ACL (anterior cruciate ligament) injury, meniscus injury, chondral injury, etc. KOOS is also used in knee OA.

What are the 5 subscales of the Koos?

KOOS consists of 5 subscales; Pain, other Symptoms, Function in daily living (ADL), Function in sportand recreation (Sport/Rec)and knee related Quality of life (QOL). The previous week is the time period considered when answering the questions.

How are Koos scores used in a RCT?

For the purpose of an RCT, KOOS subscale scores can be aggregated and averaged as the primary outcome. The five individual KOOS subscale scores are then given as secondary outcomes to enable clinical interpretation. Please see FAQ for further information on this procedure.