What is Endoglossic language policy?

What is Endoglossic language policy?

Endoglossic policies are those that give primacy to and promote an indigenous language of the community. Exoglossic policies are those that give primacy and promote an outside, frequently a former colonial language; the adoption of a language in a non-native context is a major indication of LWC status.

What is the language policy in Namibia?

The Language Policy goes on to state that all learners must study two languages as subjects from Grade 1 onwards, one of which must be English. Grade 4 should be a transitional year in which the mother language plays a supportive role in teaching, with English as the medium of instruction.

What is a language policy document?

A language policy document is an important strategic instrument in the general context of internationalisation, growing competition and other future challenges in Higher Education. Therefore it is crucial that Language Centres adopt a key role in initiating and formulating language policies.

What is Endoglosia?

(linguistics) Describing an indigenous language that is the main or the official language of a region or country.

What do you mean by national language?

A national language is a language (or language variant, e.g. dialect) that has some connection—de facto or de jure—with a nation. One or more languages spoken as first languages in the territory of a country may be referred to informally or designated in legislation as national languages of the country.

How many languages are there in Namibia?

Thirteen languages
Thirteen languages have been recognized in Namibia as national languages, including 10 indigenous African languages spoken by 87.8% of the population and 3 Indo-European languages spoken by 11.2% of the population.

What is the purpose of language policy in education?

Language Policy contributes to the growth of the field by publishing high-quality studies that help build a sound theoretical understanding of the subject area. It presents papers that deal with the widest range of cases, situations and regions.

What are 3 main characteristics of Diglossia?

Solution (1} has been adopted, again in accordance with Al-Toma’s procedure.

  • Function. One of the most important features of diglossia is the specialization of function for H and L.
  • Prestige. In all the defining languages the speakers regard H as.
  • Literary heritage.
  • Acquisition.
  • Standardization.
  • Stability.
  • Grammar.

Which is the official language of Swaziland?

Second, Swaziland’s language policy is discussed, based on language ‘policy’ documents prepared by the Ministry of Education. Finally, even though both English and siSwati are considered official languages, English will however continue to be employed as the major vehicle for economic development and international trade and communication.

Which is the official language of Namibia Angola?

Foreign Languages Of Namibia. As mentioned above, English is the official language of Namibia. However, the language is spoken by less than 1% of the population of the country as their native language. 4% to 5% of the population, mainly the Angolan community, speak Portuguese.

What was the official language of Namibia during apartheid?

During the apartheid regime in Namibia, English, German, and Afrikaans were designated as the official languages of the country. However, after Namibia gained independence from South Africa in 1990, the new government of the country allowed only English to be used as the official language.

How is siSwati used as a national language?

Mordaunt (2006) analyzes the kingdom of Eswatini’s language policy for schools and efforts to promote siSwati as a national language capable of fostering cultural pride and national unity. In most African countries the mother tongue leans much on culture. There is a conspicuous relationship between first language and culture.