Popular articles

What is Active Directory domain functional level?

What is Active Directory domain functional level?

Active Directory functional levels are controls that specify which advanced Active Directory domain features can be used in an enterprise domain. The enterprise domain is usually comprised of domain controller that run on different versions of the Windows Server operating system.

How do I check my Active Directory functional level?

Open the “Administrative Tools” under the menu you have to select “Active Directory Domains and Trusts” or “Active Directory Users and Computers“. Then right-click the root domain, and choose “Properties“. Under the “General” tab, the “Domain functional level” and “Forest functional level” is displayed on the screen.

How do I increase functional level in Active Directory?


  1. Open the Active Directory Domains and Trusts snap-in.
  2. In the left pane, browse to the domain you want to raise, right-click it, and select Raise Domain Functional Level.
  3. Select the new functional level you want to set and click OK.

What is a functional level strategy?

Functional level strategies are the actions and goals assigned to various departments that support your business level strategy and corporate level strategy. These strategies specify the outcomes you want to see achieved from the daily operations of specific departments (or functions) of your business.

What is Active Directory roles?

The 5 FSMO roles are: Schema Master – one per forest. Domain Naming Master – one per forest. Relative ID (RID) Master – one per domain. Primary Domain Controller (PDC) Emulator – one per domain.

What protocol is used for Active Directory?

LDAP protocol
Active Directory is a directory server that uses the LDAP protocol.

Why raise domain functional level?

The process of raising the DFL is done to increase the capabilities and enhance the security of the domain . The Windows DFL has new and upgraded set of features in every succeeding OS version. It is advisable to upgrade the functional level once the prerequisites are met. You must be part of the Domain Admins group to raise the DFL.

How do I Raise my domain functional level?

To raise the functional level, open Active Directory User and Computer and right click on your domain and select raise domain functional level. Select the domain functional level that you want and select raise.

What is functional level?

The functional level of your organization is the level of the operating divisions and departments. It is the responsibility of the strategist to provide direction to functional managers regarding the execution of plan and strategies for the successful implementation.

What is my domain functional level?

Domain functional level. Introduction. Domain functional level (DFL) determines the features of a Domain Controller (DC) based on the Windows server Operating System (OS) it runs on. Feature set of a particular DFL will be available for a DC if it runs on the operating system version that is compatible with the functional level.