Popular articles

What are the 36 states of Nigeria and their capitals?

What are the 36 states of Nigeria and their capitals?

List of Nigeria’s 36 States with their Capitals and Current Governors

S. No State Capital
1 Abia State Umuahia
2 Adamawa State Yola
3 Akwa Ibom State Uyo
4 Anambra State Awka

How many state and capital do we have in Nigeria?

Nigeria have a total of 36 states and capitals.

What are the names of the 36 states in Nigeria?

From names of rivers to popular heroes, see how all the 36 Nigerian states got their names.

  • Abia. Abia is an acronym from the four main groups of people in the state as at the time it was formed in 1991: Aba Bende Isuikwuato Afikpo.
  • Adamawa.
  • Akwa-Ibom.
  • Anambra.
  • Bauchi.
  • Bayelsa.
  • Benue.
  • Borno.

How many states are in Nigeria including FCT?

36 states
Nigeria is a Federal Presidential Republic. It is divided into 36 states, and Abuja, which has the status of Federal Capital Territory (FCT). The 36 states and the FCT are grouped into six geopolitical zones: North Central (7 states): Niger, Kogi, Benue, Plateau, Nasarawa (Nassarawa), Kwara and FCT.

How many states does Nigeria have in 2020?

Nigeria is a federation of 36 states and 1 federal capital territory. Each of the 36 states is a semi-autonomous political unit that shares powers with the Federal Government as enumerated under the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

Which state is the oldest state in Nigeria?

Deducing from the dates of creation of states in the country, Cross River, Lagos, Kaduna, Kano, Kwara and Rivers states respectively are the oldest states in Nigeria. These six states were all formed on the 27th of December, 1967.

What are the capitals and governors of Nigeria?

36 States of Nigeria, their Capitals and Governors :: Nigeria Information & Guide List of Nigeria’s 36 states in Nigeria, their capital and current governors Nigerian 36 States and Capital, Governors Home| Nigeria Guide| Directory| Finance| Jobs | Events| Community Health| Blog NIGERIA> 36 STATES, CAPITAL & GOVERNORS

How many terms of office does a Nigerian Governor have?

The constitution limits these Nigerian state governors to only two terms of four-year terms in office. Below is a compiled list of the 36 state governors in Nigeria. This 2021, elections were dully held in 29 states for governors while state assemblies had their election in the 36 states.

Who is the current governor of Lagos State?

Babajide Sanwo-Olu has been elected the next governor of Lagos State, Nigeria’s economic capital. Abdullahi Sule (APC) – 327,229 votes. Abubakar Bello (APC) – 526,412 votes. Dapo Abiodun (APC) – 241,670 votes. Dapo Abiodun is the new Ogun State governor.

Which is the capital and slogan of Nigeria?

All of the above mentioned units in Nigeria have their own slogans, capitals, and governors. Capital: Umuahia. Governor: Okezie Ikpeazu. Slogan: God’s own State. Capital: Yola. Governor: Jibrilla Bindo. Slogan: Highest peak of the nation.