How do I get a copy of my NJ marriage license?
Contact the municipality where the marriage license was originally obtained to see if they can provide a copy. Otherwise, contact the New Jersey Department of Health and Senior Services – Vital Records. The phone number is (609) 292-4087.
How do I look up a marriage license in NJ?
- If you know the county of marriage, you can request a search for a fee from the county registrar or the New Jersey State Archives.
- If you don’t know the date or county of marriage, you can also try searching for marriage information in other records.
How long does it take to get a marriage certificate in NJ?
If you choose to mail in your form you can expect to get your marriage license mailed back within 7-10 days. Your new Social Security Card will take about 2-4 weeks. Note: You may leave items 5, 8B and 9B blank.
Are marriage records public in NJ?
New Jersey Marriage Records are not categorized as public information. Only eligible applicants are able to obtain Marriage Records in the state of New Jersey.
How do I find free marriage records in NJ?
The New Jersey Marriage Index is now online. The New Jersey Marriage Index for 1901-2016 is now online for free public use at the Internet Archive. There is a brides index for 1901-2000, a grooms index for some but not all years within 1901-2000, and a combined index that is in roughly chronological order for 2001-2016 …
How much does a marriage certificate cost in NJ?
Fees at a Glance
|Marriage/Civil Union License Application||$28|
|Domestic Partnership Registration||$28|
Can you get married during Covid 19 NJ?
The license is valid throughout New Jersey. However, due to the public health emergency, please contact your local registrar first to determine if they are still open for business at this time as they may be closed to protect the health of residents and workers against COVID-19.
How do I go about finding a marriage license copy?
How to Get an Old Marriage License Visit the Department of Health in your state Request a copy of an Old Marriage License Fill out the Marriage License request form Show proof of identification & pay the fee Receive the Old Marriage License Copy via mail
How to get a New Jersey marriage license?
application for a New Jersey marriage license
How do you apply for marriage license in New Jersey?
To apply for a marriage license, you must go to the office in the municipality where one of you resides. It is valid anywhere within the state. You do not have to be a resident of New Jersey, either. If both of you are out-of-state residents, you will need to apply in the county where the ceremony will take place.
What are the marriage laws in New Jersey?
New Jersey Marriage Laws The fee for a New Jersey marriage license is $28 and is required at the time of application. Minimum age to marry is 18. There is a 72-hour waiting period. No blood test or residency requirements. In order to get married in New Jersey, couples must apply for and obtain a marriage license.