Helpful tips

Can you take concealed carry class online in Texas?

Can you take concealed carry class online in Texas?

Online concealed carry classes are legal in Texas. In 2016 the Texas legislature passed HB 3784 allowing online LTC classes to qualify for the license to carry. It’s the same class that has been given in Texas for years, just available online now. Online concealed carry classes are finally legal in Texas.

Do you have to take a class to get a concealed carry permit in Texas?

License to Carry Application Requirements You must be 21 years of age or older to apply for a Texas License to Carry (LTC). You must submit to a background check. You must complete four to six hours of classroom or online training from a Texas DPS–approved provider.

How long is the class for concealed carry in Texas?

The law requires the course to consist of 4 hours of classroom instruction and this does not include time on the range or any time we take for breaks so it will be 5-6 hours total.

Can you use a 22 for concealed carry class Texas?

You can bring your own handgun, borrow a friend’s gun, or rent one at the range. Your personal firearm must be unloaded and kept in your bag/container until instructed to remove it while in the shooting bay area. Firearms can be a . 22 caliber or larger (.

Do I need a License to buy a gun in Texas?

As long as you’re eligible to own a firearm and in compliance with federal gun laws, you should be able to legally purchase a handgun in Texas, and no permit is needed.

Can you carry a concealed weapon in Texas?

Texas has reciprocity agreements with many other states. This means that with a Texas CHL you will be allowed to carry a concealed weapon in those states. Be sure you understand the laws of any state you are carrying in because they can differ from the Texas laws that you learn in your chl classes.

How much does it cost to get a Texas concealed handgun license?

Four (4) hours training plus range time, completed in one day. The value of $125, which includes range fees. ($25 discount, each, for 2 or more in the same class.) You can apply with DPS ( before or after you take the class. You can also use this link to follow your application as it is processed.

Can a church carry a gun in Texas?

In this opinion, the Texas Attorney General concluded: “Unless a church provides effective oral or written notice prohibiting the carrying of handguns on its property, a license holder may carry a handgun on church property as the law otherwise allows.”

How to get a CHL license in Texas?

Finally you must complete an application and a training course. The application may be completed on the Texas Department of Public Safety website. The Texas DPS is required by law to process your license in 60 days or less. If they run into any additional questions such as prior convictions they may ask you to provide more information.