Who won the 100m breaststroke at the 2016 Olympics?

Who won the 100m breaststroke at the 2016 Olympics?

Adam Peaty
Swimming at the 2016 Summer Olympics – Men’s 100 metre breaststroke

Men’s 100 metre breaststroke at the Games of the XXXI Olympiad
Competitors 46 from 38 nations
Winning time 57.13 WR
Adam Peaty Great Britain Cameron van der Burgh South Africa Cody Miller United States

What is a good time for breaststroke?

A 1:29 is a fair time, assuming that you are speaking of LCM. To compete in more competitive and higher-level meets, aim for times closer to the mid-low 1:10s. I would recommend working on starts, underwater pullouts, and open turns, as they are important parts of a good breaststroke swim.

Where was the men’s 100 metre breaststroke held in 2012?

The men’s 100 metre breaststroke event at the 2012 Summer Olympics took place on 28–29 July at the London Aquatics Centre in London, United Kingdom. Cameron van der Burgh smashed a new world record to end South Africa’s medal drought for an Olympic gold in the event.

When did they start using breaststroke in the Olympics?

In the 1940s, breaststrokers discovered that they could go faster by bringing both arms forward over their heads. This practice was immediately forbidden in breaststroke, but gave birth to butterfly, whose first official appearance was at the 1956 Games in Melbourne. This style is now one of the four strokes used in competition.

Who was the fastest swimmer in London 2012?

Highlights of the Men’s 100m Breaststroke Semi-Finals during the London 2012 Olympic Games. Cameron van der Burgh qualifies fastest for the final of the Men’s 100m Breaststroke. Swimming has featured on the programme of all editions of the Games since 1896. The very first Olympic events were freestyle (crawl) or breaststroke.

Who is the world record holder in the 100 metre backstroke?

Rickard, the former world record holder, earned a sixth spot in 59.87, while Italy’s Fabio Scozzoli (59.97) and Lithuania’s Giedrius Titenis (1:00.84) closed out the field.