Who was ruling India in 2009?

Who was ruling India in 2009?

Manmohan Singh became the first Prime Minister since Jawaharlal Nehru in 1962 to be re-elected after completing a full five-year term….16 April 2009 – 13 May 2009.

Leader Manmohan Singh Lal Krishna Advani
Alliance UPA NDA
Leader since 22 May 2004 1 June 2004
Leader’s seat Assam (Rajya Sabha) Gandhinagar

How many seats won BJP in 2019?

The Bharatiya Janata Party-led NDA won the elections with the BJP itself winning a clear majority. The BJP become the single largest party in the House and surpassed expectations to win 303 seats, with its alliance partners bringing the NDA to a total of 353 seats.

Who was ruling India in 2010?

The Janata Dal (United) was the largest party in the assembly after the 2005 election, and co-ruled with the Bharatiya Janata Party as part of the National Democratic Alliance. The incumbent chief minister was Nitish Kumar.

How many votes did BJP get in 2019?

The Bharatiya Janata Party received 37.36% of the vote, the highest vote share by a political party since the 1989 general election, and won 303 seats, further increasing its substantial majority. In addition, the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) won 353 seats.

How many seats did Congress won in Lok Sabha election 2014?

In contrast, the result was the worst-ever performance by the Indian National Congress (INC), which had ruled India for most of its post-independence history. The INC received 19.3% of the vote and won only 44 seats, with its wider alliance, the United Progressive Alliance, winning a total of just 59.

Who was the Prime Minister in India in 2009?

The 2009 general election saw three main national pre-poll alliances. Given the volatile nature of coalition politics in India, many parties changed alliances before, during and after the elections. The two larger coalitions, UPA and NDA, had clearly indicated their prime ministerial candidates during campaigning for the election.

Which is the National Capital Region of India in 2009?

In the 2009 general elections, 499 out of the total 543 Parliamentary constituencies were newly delimited constituencies. This affected the National Capital Region of Delhi, the Union Territory of Puducherry and all the states except Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Jammu & Kashmir, Jharkhand, Manipur and Nagaland.

Who was the PM candidate of UPA in 2009?

Following the surgery, speculation of alternate PM candidates arose both within the Congress and amongst coalition partners. In an attempt to quell such speculations, Sonia Gandhi on 6 February 2009, confirmed that Manmohan Singh would be the UPA’s PM candidate by writing so in the Congress party magazine Sandesh.