What was the sundering Forgotten Realms?

What was the sundering Forgotten Realms?

The Sundering refers to two events that occurred in the fictional timeline of the Forgotten Realms campaign setting of the Dungeons & Dragons role-playing game.

Why Is Forgotten Realms so popular?

Forgotten Realms is one of the most popular D&D settings, largely due to the success of novels by authors such as R. A. Salvatore and numerous role-playing video games, including Pool of Radiance (1988), Eye of the Beholder (1991), Icewind Dale (2000), and the Neverwinter Nights and Baldur’s Gate series.

What was the first Forgotten Realms novel?

R. A. Salvatore wrote his first Forgotten Realms novel in 1988, The Crystal Shard (1988), which was originally set in the Moonshae Islands before being moved to a new location and introduced the drow character Drizzt Do’Urden.

Who invented Forgotten Realms?

Ed Greenwood
Forgotten Realms/Designers

The FORGOTTEN REALMS is the most successful and widely known DUNGEONS & DRAGONS campaign setting ever created, and it owes its existence to creator Ed Greenwood. This 160-page hardcover book describes the campaign setting as it lives and breathes in the imagination of its creator.

How are the books in the Forgotten Realms numbered?

In this series, they are numbered not in the order of their original publication, but rather in their chronological order in Drizzt’s life. The first six novels in this series had never previously been released in a hardcover edition.

When did the second sundering of the Forgotten Realms take place?

The Second Sundering was somehow connected to the First Sundering that took place around −17,600 DR, when an elven High Magic ritual went both forward and backward in time to create Evermeet; and with a prehistoric cataclysm known as the Tearfall, that took place in −31,000 DR.

When does the book The Sundering take place?

The first The Sundering series novel is set in 1484 DR. The Tyranny of Dragons story line and accompanying adventures began with the release of the 5th edition Player’s Handbook. The Adventurers League was launched as a new organized play program set in the Realms and beginning play in the year 1489 DR.

Is the legend of Drizzt set in the Forgotten Realms?

This is part of the larger Legend of Drizzt series set in the Forgotten Realms. This latest installment in New York Times best-sel… In the 2nd book of the multi-author Sundering seri…