What is the legal length of a knife to carry in Michigan?

What is the legal length of a knife to carry in Michigan?

3 inches
Concealment is not an element of 750.226 Armed with intent to use dangerous or deadly weapon. This section applies to the knives restricted under 750.227 and includes any knife “having a blade over 3 inches in length.” A violation occurs if one goes armed with intent to use the weapon unlawfully against another.

What are the laws for carrying a knife in Michigan?

All knives legal to own are legal to open carry, apart from those banned by MCL 750.226a. Hunting knives can be carried concealed or openly. It’s illegal to conceal carry dirks, daggers, stilettos, and other stabbing blades. It’s illegal to carry openly or concealed any automatic non-folding knife.

What size knife is legal to carry around?

Types of Knives You Can Typically Legally Carry Knives that are usually legal to carry almost anywhere include multi-tool devices, Swiss Army knives, and utility knives, and knives with blades that are shorter than 2.5 inches.

What kind of knives are illegal in Michigan?

It is illegal to conceal carry dirks, stilettos, daggers, and other stabbing items. It is illegal to carry any automatic NON-FOLDING knife (that is, any knife whose blade protrudes out the front of the handle). On top of this, you can not carry a dangerous weapon with intent to harm.

Are monkey fists illegal in Michigan?

The monkey’s fist as a weapon became known as a slungshot. Carrying or attempting to use a slungshot is a felony in the states of California, Oklahoma, Massachusetts, and Michigan. It is a gross misdemeanor in the states of Nevada and Washington.

Are you legally allowed to carry a knife?

Is It Legal To Carry A Pocket Knife In Australia? In most states – including New South Wales, Victoria, Northern Territory, and South Australia – it is illegal to carry a weapon, even for self-defense. This includes knives, which states consider dangerous articles or prohibited weapons.

What is the law on carrying a knife?

Possessing a knife in a public place or school is a crime under section 11C of the Summary Offences Act 1988 which carries a maximum penalty of 2 years in prison and/or a fine of $2,200. To establish the offence, the prosecution must prove beyond reasonable doubt that the defendant: Possessed a knife, and.

What can I carry for self defense in Michigan?

Specifically, if you’re a convicted felon, or you’re on probation or parole, you may not possess or carry a gun of any kind!…Guns and Ammo most people can own:

  • Handguns (revolver or semi-automatic pistol)
  • Shotguns.
  • Rifles.
  • Air guns.

What size knife is legal to carry in Michigan?

A person 18 and over is allowed to carry a 3″ and below for concealed carry. (Basically a pocket knife) Understanding this article stating 3″ and above is a bit off. A person in Michigan may open carry most knives at any length such as a machete, as long as the person does not have malicious intent.

What is the legal blade length in Michigan?

Michigan law states: MCL 750.226 No. “Michigan law specifies that a person, with intent to use the knife unlawfully against another, shall not go armed with a knife having a blade over 3 inches in length.” So according to state law, any length blade (fixed or folder) would be legal,…

Are double edged knives legal in mi?

Knife carry laws in the state of Michigan were amended in October 2017. Spring-assisted knives (switchblades, automatic, etc.) are now legal as of the amendment date. However, OTF (out the front) double-edged knives are still prohibited.