What is the illness wellness continuum?

What is the illness wellness continuum?

The Illness-Wellness Continuum is a graphical illustration of a wellbeing concept first proposed by Travis in 1972. It proposes that wellbeing includes mental and emotional health, as well as the presence or absence of illness.

What 3 categories are on the wellness continuum?

The positive emotional well-being scale. The psychological well-being scale. The social well-being scale.

What is health wellness and illness?

World Health Organization (WHO) defines health as “a state of complete physical, mental, and social well-being and not merely the absence of disease or infirmity (illness).” WHO defines wellness as “the optimal state of health of individuals and groups,” and wellness is expressed as “a positive approach to living.”

What are the 5 stages of health that makes up the wellness continuum?

There are five main aspects of personal health: physical, emotional, social, spiritual, and intellectual. In order to be considered “well,” it is imperative for none of these areas to be neglected.

Why is wellness a continuum?

The Wellness Continuum They adopt attitudes and lifestyles that prevent disease, improve health, and enhance their quality of life and sense of wellbeing. In other words, wellness is proactive, preventive and driven by self-responsibility. The growth of wellness is the extension of this consumer value and worldview.

What is the main goal of the health continuum?

So, put simply, the healthcare continuum definition describes the movement of a patient from preventative care to hospital care to rehabilitation to general medicine. The RN role in continuity of care is to support patients’ effective treatment, and ultimately, help achieve better health outcomes.

What does the Health, Illness-Wellness Continuum mean?

The Health, Illness – Wellness Continuum. Illness: A state in which the person fills unhealthy may or maynot related to disease. The Health, Illness – Wellness Continuum. Absence of symptoms of illness and ability to carryout activities.

What do the arrows mean on the Wellness Continuum?

1. Movement to the right on the arrows (towards high level wellness) equals and increasing level of health and wellbeing. Achieved in three stages. 2. Movement to the left on the arrows (towards pre matured death ) equals a progressively decreasing state of health. Achieved in three stages.

How is health related to the wellpeople continuum?

Everyone is connected to the rest of humanity and the whole universe. All life processes, including illness, are about managing attitude and energy. WellPeople asserts that stress and negative emotions weaken the immune system and lead to poor health and disease. Wellness is improved by managing these emotions in a positive way.

Which is the neutral point on the Wellness Continuum?

The treatment paradigm (drugs, herbs, surgery, psychotherapy, acupuncture, and so on) can bring you up to the neutral point, where the symptoms of disease have been alleviated. The wellness paradigm, which can be utilized at any point on the continuum, helps you move toward higher levels of wellness.