What class does Monogenea belong to?

What class does Monogenea belong to?

The class Monogenoidea is a fairly large group of parasitic flatworms belonging to the phylum Platyhelminthes. Monogeneans are generally found on bony fishes in freshwater and marine habitats.

How many Monogenea species are there?

Between 4,000 and 5,000 species of monogeneans have been described. They are found on fishes in fresh and salt water and in a wide range of water temperatures.

What is the classification of flatworm?

Flatworm/Scientific names

What are the classification of Turbellaria?

Turbellaria/Scientific names

What is the classification of fasciola?


How do Monogenea reproduce?

BEHAVIOR AND REPRODUCTION Many monogeneans move like leeches from their site of first attachment on the host to the site where they mate and lay their eggs. The fertilized eggs are released into the environment and produce infective larvae, which can swim freely by using hairlike fibers that cover their bodies.

How many species of Monogenea are there in the world?

With over 4,000 species, the class Monogenea consists of parasitic flatworms that belong to the Phylum Platyhelminthes. They are commonly found in aquatic habitats where the majority of species exist as ectoparasites of fish and other organisms. A few species, however, are endoparasitic and thus invade various body organs of the host.

What are the members of the class Monogenea?

Kingdom: Animalia – Members of the Class Monogenea, which are multicellular organisms, belong to the kingdom Animalia. As such, they are eukaryotic heterotrophs and thus rely on other organisms as a source of nourishment.

Which is the name of the upper level taxa of Monogenea?

The naming of their upper-level taxa (biological categories) is controversial. “Monogenea” is widely accepted as the name of the class itself, as is the subdivision of the class into two orders, namely the Monopisthocotylea and the Polyopisthocotylea.

Can a Monogenea live in more than one host?

Those few species which are endoparasites do not normally venture deeply into their hosts tissues, but live instead in the cloaca or bladder. Monogeneans have an indirect life-cycle, meaning the always have more than one host species and th animal lives in separate hosts during different stages of its life.