Popular articles

How many regions are there in Guyana?

How many regions are there in Guyana?

The name Guyana is an Amerindian word meaning “Land of Many Waters”. Guyana is divided into three counties: Essequibo, Demerara and Berbice; four geographical/natural regions: the interior savannahs, the highland region, the hilly sand and clay area and the low coastal plain; and 10 administrative regions.

Which is the biggest region in Guyana?

Upper Takutu-Upper Esequibo
Upper Takutu-Upper Esequibo is a region bordering the region of Potaro-Siparuni to the north, the region of East Berbice-Corentyne to the east and Brazil to the south and west. It contains the towns Aishalton, Lethem, Good Hope and Surama. It is also the largest region of Guyana.

How many administrative region is Guyana divided into?

It’s bounded by the Atlantic Ocean in the north, Suriname in the east, Brazil in the south and southwest, and the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela in the northwest. For administrative purposes, the country is divided into ten regions.

What region is Berbice?

The Mahaica-Berbice Region extends east of the Mahaica River to the west bank of the Berbice River. A large part of the region is low coastal plain. Further inland lie the Intermediate Savannahs and hilly sand and clay region….

Capital Fort Wellington
Area 4,190 sq km (1,620 sq mi)
Population (2012) 49,723

What are the names of the six towns in Guyana?

These will complement the existing six towns: Georgetown, the capital, New Amsterdam, Corriverton and Rosehall in Region Six, Anna Regina, Region Two and Linden, Region Ten.

What are the 10 regions in Guyana?

The ten (10) Administrative Regions of Guyana are:

  • Region 1 – Barima-Waini.
  • Region 2 – Pomeroon-Supenaam.
  • Region 3 – Essequibo Islands-West Demerara.
  • Region 4 – Demerara-Mahaica.
  • Region 5 – Mahaica-Berbice.
  • Region 6 – East Berbice-Corentyne.
  • Region 7 – Cuyuni-Mazaruni.
  • Region 8 – Potaro-Siparuni.

Where in Guyana is Region 9?

Upper Takutu-Upper Esequibo (Region 9) is a region of Guyana. Venezuela claims the territory as part of Esequiban Guyana. It borders the region of Potaro-Siparuni to the north, the region of East Berbice-Corentyne to the east and Brazil to the south and west.

What is the largest natural region?

Geographic map of Guayana natural region. The Guayana natural region (Spanish: Región natural de Guayana) also simply known as Guayana (English: Guiana) in Venezuela, is a large massif of approximately 441,726 km2 area, equivalent to 48.2% of the total continental territory of the country.

Who named Guyana?

The name “Guyana” derives from Guiana, the original name for the region that formerly included Guyana (British Guiana), Suriname (Dutch Guiana), French Guiana, and parts of Colombia, Venezuela and Brazil.

Which is the smallest region in Guyana?

Region Four (4) – Demerara-Mahaica – The Smallest Of All The Regions In Guyana But The Most Populated!

What are the 10 administrative regions in Guyana?

Administrative Regions are: Region 1 – Barima-Waini Region 2 – Pomeroon-Supenaam Region 3 – Essequibo Islands-West Demerara Region 4 – Demerara-Mahaica Region 5 – Mahaica-Berbice Region 6 – East Berbice-Corentyne Region 7 – Cuyuni-Mazaruni Region 8 – Potaro-Siparuni Region 9 – Upper Takutu-Upper Essequibo

Who is the chairman of each region in Guyana?

Each Region is administered by a Regional Democratic Council (RDC) which is headed by a Chairman. The Regions are divided into neighbourhood councils, known as Neighbourhood Democratic Councils (NDCs). ^ “Region 4 – Demerara- Mahaica | Ministry of Communities”. Retrieved 2019-04-16. “Regions of Guyana”. Statoids.

What are the three regions of British Guiana?

During the Colonial Period, British Guiana was divided into three counties: Essequibo, Demerara and Berbice. Later in 1958, the country was reorganized into nine (9) Administrative Districts: East Berbice, East Demerara, Essequibo, Essequibo Islands, Mazaruni-Potaro, North West, Rupununi, West Berbice and West Demerara.